Inspirer Today

Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah (M. N. Venkatachaliah): 25th Chief Justice of India


M. N. Venkatachaliah

Quick Facts

  • Name: Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah
  • Also Known As: M. N. Venkatachaliah
  • Famous As: 25th Chief Justice of India
  • Birth Date: 25 October 1929
  • Nationality: Indian
  • Birth Place: Lepakshi, Andhra Pradesh
  • Awards: Padma Vibhushan (2004), Doctor of Letters by Pondicherry University,
    Doctor of Laws (LL.D) by Manipal University, Honorary Doctorate from Rani Channamma University, Belgaum


M. N. Venkatachaliah was the 25th Chief Justice of India (1993-1994). He served as the Chairman of National Human Rights Commission (1996-1998 and 2000). He also headed the National Commission for reviewing the Constitution of India.

Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah (M. N. Venkatachaliah)

Early and Personal Life

M. N. Venkatachaliah was born on 25th October 1929 in the old State of Mysore where he was educated. He earned his Bachelor in Science and Bachelor in Law from the University of Mysore, Karnataka, on 6th November 1975. M. N. Venkatachaliah married Parvathi Venkatachaliah and they have a son named Chi.V.Sesha.

RELATED:  Adarsh Sein Anand – The Former Chief Justice of India and a Champion for Human Rights
M. N. Venkatachaliah (Image Source)


Since 1951, Venkatachalia began practicing general law. He was appointed as the Permanent Judge of High Court of Karnataka from 6th November 1975. He was appointed Judge of the Supreme Court of India from 5th October 1987. He was appointed by Shankar Dayal Sharma as the 25th Chief Justice of India from 12th February 1993 to 24th October 1994. He was preceded by L. M. Sharma and succeeded by A. M. Ahmadi. Venkatachalia was the 2nd Chairman National Human Rights Commission (26th November 1996 – 24th October 1999). He also served as the Chairman of National Human Rights Commission (1996-1998). Venkatachaliah worked on the anti-corruption and human rights issues.

Post Retirement

Image Source

Head of the National Commission (2000)

Justice Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah Commission known as the National Commission was established to find the working of the Constitution (NCRWC). This was set up by a resolution of the NDA Government of India led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee (22nd February 2000). The main objective was to make possible amendments to the Constitution of India. The report was submitted in 2002.

The 11 members including the retired Chief Justice of India, Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah who headed the Commission was formed. Other members included B.P. Jeevan, K. Punnayya), R.S. Sarkaria Soli Sorabjee K. Parasaran, Subhash C. Kashyap, C.R. Irani, Abid Hussain, Sumitra Kulkarni and P. A. Sangma.

Chief Justice submitted the Commission report to the then Union Minister Arun Jaitley.

Chief Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah submitting the Commission report to Union Law Minister Arun Jaitley in 2002 (Image Source)

Notable works of the Chief Justice

In 2003, M. N. Venkatachaliah supported the launching of the Initiatives of Change Centre for Indian Governance. Venkatachalia was on the Advisory Board of Foundation for Restoration of National Values. This is a society established in 2008 that was restored as the National and Cultural Values of India.

Presently, Venkatachalia serves as the Chancellor of Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, Prasanthi Nilayam (Deemed University). Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning is a Modern Gurukula where the teacher-student interaction occurs in the process of Integral Education. The dimensions include Intellectual, Cultural, Physical, Service, and Devotional.


Written By: Hetal Kabra


RELATED:  Raghunandan Swarup Pathak – The 18th Chief Justice & Son of Former Vice President of India

Related Articles:


Team BeAnInspirer

Our team at include members who write Inspirational articles for this inspiring blog. Page maintained by Krishnendu Pramanick.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button